Asset 9

picture of student in prayer

Major Religious Holy Days

Dedicated to providing programs aimed at improving the spiritual, ethical and social aspects of life at The Claremont Colleges.

Major Religious Holy days September 2018 – May 2019

1st Semester – September 2018-December 2018

Eid al Ghadeer Muslim Aug 30 Thursday
Eid al Adha Muslim Sept 2-3*# Sun-Mon
Rosh Hashanah [New Year] Jewish Sept 9-11* Sun-Tues
Yom Kippur [Day of Atonement] Jewish Sept 18-19* Tues-Wed
Day of Aushura Muslim Sept 21 Friday
Sukkot [Feast of Tabernacles] Jewish Sept 23-30* Sun-Sun
Simchat Torah/ Shmini Atzeret Jewish Sept 30-Oct 2* Sun-Tues
Arba’een Muslim Oct 31*# Wednesday
All Saints Day Christian Nov 1 Thursday
Diwali Jain/Sikh/Hindu Nov 7 Wednesday
Birth of the Bab Bahai’i November 8-9 Thurs-Fri
Eid al-Mawlid an-Nabawī Muslim Nov 30*# Friday
Chanukah- [8-day Festival] Jewish Dec 2-10* Sun-Mon
Solemnity of the Blessed Virgin Mary Christian Dec 8 Saturday
Our Lady of Guadalupe Christian Dec 12 Wednesday
Christmas Christian Dec 25 Tuesday
Kwanzaa African-American Dec 26 – Jan 1 Wed-Tues
Bodhi Day (Rohatsu) Buddhist Jan. 13 Sunday

2nd Semester – January 2019-June 2019 

Christmas Eastern Orthodox Jan 7 Monday
Bodhi Day (Rohatsu) Buddhist Jan 13 Sunday
Asian Lunar New Year Confucian/Taoist /Buddhist Feb 5 Tuesday
Ash Wednesday Christian March 6 Wednesday
Holi Hindu March 20-21* Wed-Thurs
Purim Jewish March 20-21* Wed-Thurs
Navroz (Persian New Year) Muslim/ Bahai’i /Secular March 21 Thursday
Palm Sunday Christian April 14 Sunday
Vaisakhi Hindu April 14 Saturday
Passover Jewish April 19-27* Fri-Sat
Maundy Thursday Christian April 18 Thursday
Good Friday Christian April 19 Friday
Easter Vigil Christian April 20 Saturday
Ridvan Baha’i Apr 20–May 2 Sat-Thurs
Easter Christian April 21 Sunday
Pascha Orthodox Easter April 28 Sunday
Ramadan Begins Muslim May 5 Sunday
Vesak (Buddha Day) Buddhist May 19 Sunday
Declaration of the Báb Bahá’i May 23-24* Thurs-Fri
Shavuot Jewish June 8-10 Sat-Mon

#some of these dates are not fixed to a calendar but based on the actual sighting of the moon and therefore there may be some variance by a day.

*holy days start at sundown of beginning date and end at sundown or nightfall of concluding date

 

Draft of Next Year – Final Version Coming Soon…

Major Religious Holy days September 2019 – May 2020

1st Semester – September 2019-December 2019

Eid al Ghadeer Muslim
Eid al Adha Muslim
Rosh Hashanah [New Year] Jewish Sept 29-Oct 1* Sun-Tues
Yom Kippur [Day of Atonement] Jewish Oct 8-9* Tues-Wed
Day of Aushura Muslim
Sukkot [Feast of Tabernacles] Jewish Oct 13-20* Sun-Sun
Simchat Torah/ Shmini Atzeret Jewish Oct 20-22* Sun-Tues
Arba’een Muslim *# Wednesday
All Saints Day Christian Nov 1 Friday
Diwali Jain/Sikh/Hindu Oct 27 Sunday
Birth of the Bab Bahai’i Oct 28-29 Mon-Tues
Eid al-Mawlid an-Nabawī Muslim *# Friday
Chanukah- [8-day Festival] Jewish Dec 22-30* Sun-Mon
Solemnity of the Blessed Virgin Mary Christian
Our Lady of Guadalupe Christian
Christmas Christian Dec 25 Wednesday
Kwanzaa African-American Dec 26 – Jan 1 Thur-Wed
Bodhi Day (Rohatsu) Buddhist Jan. 2 Thursday

2nd Semester – January 2020-June 2020 

Christmas Eastern Orthodox Jan 7 Tuesday
Asian Lunar New Year Confucian/Taoist /Buddhist
Ash Wednesday Christian Feb 26 Wednesday
Holi Hindu March 9-10* Mon-Tues
Purim Jewish March 9-10* Mon-Tues
Navroz (Persian New Year) Muslim/ Bahai’i /Secular March 20 Friday
Palm Sunday Christian April 5 Sunday
Vaisakhi Hindu April 13 Monday
Passover Jewish April 8-16* Wed-Thur
Maundy Thursday Christian April 9 Thursday
Good Friday Christian April 10 Friday
Easter Vigil Christian April 11 Saturday
Ridvan Baha’i Apr 19– May 1 Sun-Fri
Easter Christian April 12 Sunday
Pascha Orthodox Easter April 19 Sunday
Ramadan Begins Muslim April 23 -May 23 Thur-Sat
Vesak (Buddha Day) Buddhist
Declaration of the Báb Bahá’i May 22-23* Fri-Sat
Shavuot Jewish May 28- 30 Thur-Sat

#some of these dates are not fixed to a calendar but based on the actual sighting of the moon and therefore there may be some variance by a day.

*holy days start at sundown of beginning date and end at sundown or nightfall of concluding date